2021 John C. Mascaro Faculty Awards in Sustainability 

Get introduced to the 2021 Mascaro Faculty Awardees in Sustainability who represent the interdisciplinary nature of sustainability and departments across the University of Pittsburgh.

We’re pleased to announce the 2021 John C. Mascaro Faculty Awards in Sustainability from the Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation. The John C. Mascaro Faculty program is designed to enhance the University’s mission of interdisciplinary excellence in sustainability research and education.



International Development Policy (IDP) BADGE
David Fraser, University Honors College
Müge Kökten Finkel, Public and International Affairs

A New Approach to Decision Making Under Uncertainty with Applications to Electric Grid Operation 
Oliver Hinder, 
Industrial Engineering



Development of a Digital Twin for Green Energy Management and Security in a Picogrid Laboratory
Robert Kerestes, Electrical and Computer Engineering 

Electric Motor Materials and Designs for a Sustainable Electrified Future
Brandon Grainger, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Paul Ohodnicki, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science 

Introduction to Engineering for Humanity
Ian NettleshipMechanical Engineering and Materials Science



Sustainable Food Systems Course
Corey Flynn, Health and Rehabilitation Sciences 

Writing Sustainability 
Steven LeMieux, English

Citrus Juices as an Environmentally Benign Catalyst for Chemical Transformations
Manisha Nigam, Chemistry, University of Pittsburgh Johnstown