Pollinator Habitat Advisory Committee

Pollinator Habitat Advisory Committee


In an effort to further the goals of the Pitt Sustainability Plan, the University has created a diverse and interdisciplinary Pollinator Habitat Advisory Committee to help make our campus environment more supportive of healthy, native pollinator populations.


A subcommittee of the Chancellor’s Advisory Council on Sustainability, the University of Pittsburgh’s Pollinator Habitat Advisory Committee’s goals are to:

Committee Members

  • CO-CHAIR: Samantha Chan, Assistant Director of Sustainability, Office of Sustainability
  • CO-CHAIR: Meghan Orman, Doctoral Student, School of Education + Office of Child Development
  • Dr. Tia-Lynn Ashman, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Rachel Bowers, Planner; Planning, Design, & Construction
  • Jonathan Burgess, Director,  Pittsburgh Water Collaboratory
  • Sarah Cutshall, Undergraduate Student & Founder, Bee Friendly Pitt
  • Allyson Frantz, Undergraduate & Founder, Relearn Our Land Initiative
  • Patty Himelright, Assistant Manager of Grounds, Facilities Management
  • Juliana Hunt, Undergraduate & Founder, Relearn Our Land Initiative
  • Julia Mascho, Sustainability Intern, Facilities Management
  • Beth Ann Mayer, Undergraduate StudentEvents Coordinator, Students for Sustainability
  • Greg Null, Assistant Director for Assessment & Accreditation, Office of Medical Education, School of Medicine
  • Dr. Aurora Sharrard, Executive Director of Sustainability, Office of Sustainability
  • Madeline Weiss, Student Sustainability Engagement Coordinator, Student Affairs


Interested in research on bees?  Check out these: