Carbon Commitment Committee

Carbon Commitment Committee

As part of our commitment to achieve carbon neutrality on our Pittsburgh campus by 2037, the University of Pittsburgh’s Carbon Commitment Committee began meeting in April 2020A subcommittee of the Chancellor’s Advisory Council on Sustainability, the Carbon Commitment Committee’s goals are to:

  • Hone, design, and manage the University’s plan to achieve its carbon neutrality goal by 2037.
  • Develop a Pitt Climate Action Plan to achieve carbon neutrality and update it every 5 years.
  • Annually evaluate progress towards carbon neutral goal, submit progress evaluations, and sharing progress .
  • Develop inclusive and equitable operational, curricular, research, and community engagement strategies related to carbon neutrality.
  • Celebrate accomplishments and performance.
  • (Re)focus on existing and emerging areas of GHG emissions reduction opportunity.

Curious how we’re doing on achieving this goal? Read the Pitt Climate Action Plan and follow along on our Sustainability Dashboard.

Committee Members

  • CHAIR: Dr. Aurora Sharrard, Executive Director of Sustainability, Office of Sustainability
  • Joshua Ash, PhD Candidate, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs
  • Jennifer Barnes, Supplier Diversity and Sustainability Coordinator, Purchasing Services
  • Scott Bernotas, Vice Chancellor, Office of Facilities Management
  • Dr. Melissa Bilec, Co-Director, Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation; Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Federica Geremicca, PhD Candidate, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Dustin Gray, Executive Associate Athletic Director for Administration, Athletics
  • Dr. Michael Holland, Vice Chancellor for Science Policy and Research Strategies, Office the Senior Vice Chancellor for Research
  • Rebecca Roadman, Chief of Staff, Business and Operations
  • Annie Ryan, Undergraduate Student, Environmental Science, ‘22
  • VACANT, Vice Chancellor, Planning, Design, & Construction

Past Committee Members

  • Dr. Max Harleman, Alum, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs (GSPIA ‘21)
  • Dr. Katrina Kelly-Pitou, Former Assistant Research Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Mary Beth McGrew, Former Vice Chancellor, Planning, Design, and Real Estate
  • Ellen Oordt, Undergraduate Student, Ecology and Evolution, ‘22