The University of Pittsburgh’s Office of Sustainability was established in July 2018 to centralize campus-wide sustainability activities, strategies, and partnerships. Led by Executive Director of Sustainability, Dr. Aurora Sharrard, the Office of Sustainability leads University-wide sustainability strategy, activities, policies, collaborations, & partnerships to advance the Pitt Sustainability Plan, which includes 61 measurable goals across stewardship, exploration, community, and culture.

The University’s commitment to sustainable action is clear, with over 75 supporting staff members leading the charge across the campus and community. The Office of Sustainability ensures milestone progress and accomplishments are shared across the Pitt community through two principal staff members and sustainability unit leads, staff, and collaborators embedded in 5 operational divisions and 3 academic centers (Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation, Center for Sustainable Business, and Pittsburgh Water Collaboratory). Along with contributing staff, students, and partners across the University, sustainability-affiliated faculty members collaborate through the Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation.